About the MME Awards

Celebrating the European sound of today and tomorrow

2024 MME Awards nominees and winners with hosts Sans Soucis and Fernando Halman.


The Music Moves Europe Awards is the European Union Prize for popular and contemporary music. With this Prize, the European Union seeks to highlight the diversity of European music and promote emerging European talents. Previous winners are Dua Lipa, Stromae, Inhaler, Rosalía, Sigrid, Alan Walker, Meskerem Mees, Meduza, Hozier, Lous and the Yakuza and Naaz to name a few.


Europe’s vibrant and diverse music scene has to compete against a dominant Anglo-American music industry. With the Music Moves Europe Awards, the European Commission aims to put a spotlight on the most interesting new European talents and to showcase the richness of the European music industry.


The Music Moves Europe Awards are organized by Eurosonic Noorderslag (ESNS) in partnership with Reeperbahn Festival and co-funded by the Creative Europe program. It gets the support of a unique alliance of European music industry partners. The nature of this EU Prize affirms a shared commitment to help emerging artists to break through in Europe and beyond.

NAAZ (NL) - 2019
Stromae (BE) - 2011
Dua Lipa (UK) - 2017
Sans Soucis (IT) - 2023


Each year, 15 emerging artists are nominated and eligible to win a Music Moves Europe Award. All these 15 nominees are given the opportunity to perform at the Eurosonic Festival (ESNS) and are invited to join the exclusive MME Education program. The 5 winners of the Music Moves Europe Awards are also honored with prize money of EUR 10.000.

The winner of The Grand Jury MME Award wins EUR. 10.000 and the Green Touring Voucher of EUR 5.000. A selection of nominees and winners will also be invited to play at the Reeperbahn Festival in September.

The highly regarded MME Public Choice Award is decided by the fans of the 15 nominated artists in a voting campaign. Promoted by themselves, each artist has a chance to win EUR 5.000 and a Deezer Session recording if they gather the most votes!

For the complete MME Prize Package for the 15 nominees and winners click here!


The nominees are selected through a complex selection process based on the amount of airplay, music streams, live performances in Europe, as well as via music industry recommendations to reflect the vibrant diversity of the European music scene.

The selection committee works with data from SoundCharts enriched with data on bookings in venues and festivals. These data are then supplemented with recommendations of more than 300 European music Industry professionals. They are asked to name their favorite emerging artists in the country they live in and one from another European country. Once all the data is in, we compile an overview of all the possible nominees. As we have rules when an emerging artist will be considered to be eligible to be nominated, we check each year hundreds of artists on the basic rules of the MME Awards. (See below)

After this, the selection committee has a complete list of artists from each participating country in the Creative Europe Program* and starts to investigate which artists fit best in terms of career growth trend, social media following and their current status of still emerging.

The final selection consists of 15 artists from 15 countries, representing the (musical) diversity of Europe. Which all have the potential to become successful in their careers.


An emerging artist qualifies to be nominated if they:

*Main genres are: Pop, Rock, Singer-Songwriter, Hip Hop-Rap, R&B-Urban, Electronic, Loud and Alternative. All possible sub-genres can derive from the genres listed in Spotify or a sub-genre that is provided by the artists themselves.

Other criteria for the Selection Committee are:

* The countries participating in Creative Europe are the 27 EU countries and Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Armenia, Georgia, Ukraine and Tunisia.