Right off the bat: our new nominees for 2023

Oct 12 / 2022

A total of fifteen outstanding artists have been nominated for the Music Moves Europe Awards 2023. The nominees are Amelie Siba (Czechia), CMAT (Ireland), eee gee (Denmark), Goldkimono (Netherlands), Hause Plants (Portugal), Jerry Heil (Ukraine), July Jones (Slovenia), Kids Return (France), KOIKOI (Serbia), Monikaze (Lithuania), Oska (Austria), Queralt Lahoz (Spain), Sans Soucis (Italy), schmyt (Germany), The Haunted Youth (Belgium).

The nominees were announced at the MaMa Music Convention and Festival in Paris on Wednesday 12 October. The Music Moves Europe Awards (MME Awards) is the European Union prize celebrating the emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. The annual awards are designed to accelerate the international careers of upcoming European acts. Former winners of the awards include; Stromae, Alyona Alyona, Rosalía, Dua Lipa, Mezerg, Blanks, Ladaniva, Meskerem Mees and Christine and the Queens. 

Public voting is now open on this website. The nominee with the most votes wins the Public Choice Award. Last year’s Public Choice Award Winner, Ladaniva from Armenia, is now a member of the jury of the Music Moves Europe Awards for 2023. “It will be great for everyone to discover these interesting artists from different countries. Europe has a lot to offer musically.” – Ladaniva, jury member

Five artists will be selected as winners by an international jury and one artist wins the Grand Jury Prize. All winners will be revealed at the Music Moves Europe Awards ceremony on Thursday 19 January 2023 at ESNS in Groningen, the Netherlands. After the ceremony, all 15 nominees will perform at ESNS.

The Music Moves Europe Awards is the EU-funded prize for pop and contemporary music. The MME Awards celebrate emerging artists who represent the European sound of tomorrow.

Prize package

Five Music Moves Europe Award winners will receive €10,000 each. The winner of the Grand Jury Award will receive €10.000 and a green touring voucher worth €5,000. The winner of the Public Choice Award will receive €5,000.

All fifteen nominees are invited for a business education day, with best practices in the music industry, organised by ESNS, Reeperbahn Festival and its partners Liveurope, Yourope, Live DMA, IMPALA, Digital Music Europe, ICMP-CIEM, International Music Managers Forum (IMMF) and European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE).